Dermal biology research
GHK-Cu Dosage, Protocol & Research Guide
By Sam, MBA
- MW 402.92 g/mol
- CAS 89030-95-5
Properties
- CAS
- 89030-95-5
- Molecular weight
- 402.92 g/mol
- Formula
- Not yet recorded
- Sequence
- GHK (Gly-His-Lys), Cu(II) complex
- Aliases
- Copper peptide, Copper tripeptide-1, Prezatide copper, GHK copper
- Vial sizes (mg)
- 10, 50, 100
Storage
Lyophilised (dry powder)
-20 °C; supplied as a solid (Cayman Chemical GHK-Cu (acetate), item 28259).[4]
Storage notes
- Lyophilized
- Not yet recorded from a cited source
- Reconstituted stability (days)
- Not yet recorded from a cited source
Side effects, contraindications and regulatory status
Reported side effects
- FDA safety-risk page (current as of 2026-04-22): compounded injectable drugs containing GHK-Cu may pose risk for immunogenicity (aggregation, peptide-related impurities); FDA notes limited data in humans on injectable routes.[5] C Regulator or expert-panel statement
- Topical cosmetic use only: the Cosmetic Ingredient Review Expert Panel (Int J Toxicol 2018) reports Copper Tripeptide-1 use typically below 10 ppm and concludes these ingredients are safe in cosmetics as used (cosmetic products only; injected use was not assessed).[6] C Regulator or expert-panel statement
- Evidence-mapping review (Pharmaceutics 2026): clinical evidence for GHK-Cu remains sparse; the authors note literature often ignores formulation-dependent variation in stability, pharmacokinetics and toxicity.[7] C Observational
- Narrative review (Sports Med 2026) covering GHK-Cu, BPC-157, thymosin beta-4 and TB-500 among others: the authors state rigorous human safety data are scarce for many unapproved peptides.[8] C Observational
Cautions from reviews and trials
- Review cautions: the 2026 Am J Sports Med scoping review (GHK-Cu, BPC-157, thymosin beta-4 or TB-500 and others) says these peptide supplements should not currently be recommended as a replacement or adjunct for existing orthopaedic standard of care.[9] C Observational
Regulatory status
FDA 503A categories list (updated 2026-05-14): GHK-Cu except for injectable routes is in category 1 (under evaluation); FDA plans to consult its advisory committee by end Feb 2027. Checked 2026-10-20.[1] Source
Report any adverse reaction to a qualified healthcare professional.
What the research says
Summaries of the cited studies, each with its evidence grade.
Randomized trial, 13 completers (Arch Facial Plast Surg 2006)[2]
B Human trial human
Randomized trial, 13 completers (Arch Facial Plast Surg 2006): skin care regimen with or without topical GHK-Cu after CO2 laser resurfacing of the circumoral skin, assessed through 12 weeks; amount per application not stated in the abstract
Otolaryngol Head Neck Surg 2013 (doi 10.1177/0194599813492644)[3]
D Animal study Animal data rat (Sprague-Dawley, irradiated dorsal flap)
Otolaryngol Head Neck Surg 2013 (doi 10.1177/0194599813492644): topical GHK-Cu gel or aquaphilic ointment control applied twice daily for 10 days; amount per application not stated in the abstract
Compare vial sizes
| Size | Price | Doses available from the vial Calculated | Cost per dose Calculated |
|---|---|---|---|
| 50 mg | $17.99 | — | — |
| 100 mg | $34.99 | — | — |
Cost per dose uses the listed partner price and the reference dose cited on this page. Prices change; check the product page.
Calculated from a default of 2 mL water (adjustable).
PeptideCheck may earn a commission when you use Pepcore links, at no extra cost to you. Read the disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How is lyophilised GHK-Cu stored?
Cited storage for the lyophilised vial: -20 °C; supplied as a solid (Cayman Chemical GHK-Cu (acetate), item 28259)..
What is the regulatory status of GHK-Cu?
FDA 503A categories list (updated 2026-05-14): GHK-Cu except for injectable routes is in category 1 (under evaluation); FDA plans to consult its advisory committee by end Feb 2027. Checked 2026-10-20.
Compound facts
What is the molecular weight of GHK-Cu?
What is the CAS number of GHK-Cu?
How is GHK-Cu stored in the laboratory?
References
Numbered sources used on this page. Markers in the text link here.
- fda.gov
- Randomized trial, 13 completers (Arch Facial Plast Surg 2006) pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov B Human trial
- Otolaryngol Head Neck Surg 2013 (doi 10.1177/0194599813492644) pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov D Animal study
- caymanchem.com M Manufacturer documentation
- fda.gov C Regulator or expert-panel statement
- pure.psu.edu C Regulator or expert-panel statement
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov C Observational
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov C Observational
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov C Observational
Vial sizes and protocols
50 mgPartner size
100 mgPartner size
Available from Pepcore
Supplied as research material for laboratory use only.
- Shop at PepcoreCoupon code
LAUNCH20 - Shop at PepcoreCoupon code
LAUNCH20
PeptideCheck may earn a commission when you use Pepcore links, at no extra cost to you. Read the disclosure.
Related protocols and tools
Calculators
- Reconstitution calculator, 10 mg
- Reconstitution calculator, 50 mg
- Units chart, 10 mg
- Units chart, 50 mg
- Cost calculator, 10 mg
- Cost calculator, 50 mg
- Cost calculator, 100 mg
- Molecular weight converter
- Peptide reconstitution calculator
- Storage timer
- Vial label maker
- Vial planner
- Dosage calculator, GHK-Cu
- Cycle calculator, GHK-Cu